The Courier Business Awards Announce 2015 Winners

1st December 2015

The Courier Business Awards, in association with Henderson Loggie, has crowned local business winners in front of a sold out crowd at the Fairmont, St Andrews.

The awards, now in their third year, took place on Friday 27th November with over 570 guests enjoying an evening of entertainment and awards, hosted by Nick Hewer. Awards were presented to a number of categories, including new awards for this year; Apprentice of the Year and Deal of the Year. A Local Matters category was also introduced this year, which was divided into four subcategories to celebrate the best local business in Perthshire, Fife, Dundee and Angus.

The Courier Editor Richard Neville said, “Despite the occasional hurdles that all economies face, the local business scene is thriving. We are seeing inward investment on the back of major infrastructure projects and our established local companies are showing they have the ability to move with the times.

“This year’s nominations contained so many inspiring stories of dedication, innovation and achievement making judging a truly difficult job.”

The 2015 judging panel was chaired by Clydesdale Bank Chairman Jim Pettigrew.

The Courier Business Awards 2015 winners:

Apprentice of the Year

Services Business of the Year

Alastair McLean - Fife Council

Beam Orthodontics

Deal of the Year

Small Business of the Year

Bank of Scotland and John St Properties

Gowrie Contracts Ltd

Digital Business of the Year

Social Impact

Blue2 Digital

Dovetail Enterprises

Family Business of the Year

Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality Business of the Year

Wood Leisure

Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort

Growth Business of the Year


CXR Biosciences Ltd

Synergy Fabrication Ltd

Manufacturing Business of the Year

Local Matters Angus

Rockwell Solutions Ltd

Rossie Young People's Trust

Retail Business of the Year

Local Matters Dundee

Jannettas Gelateria

Hillcrest Group of Companies

Rural Business of the Year

Local Matters Fife


Ivan Wood & Sons Ltd

Science and Technology Business of the Year

Local Matters Perthshire

CXR Biosciences Ltd

Pitlochry Festival Theatre

Outstanding Contribution

Business of the Year

Stephen Leckie - CEO, Crieff Hydro

CXR Biosciences Ltd

Our premier partners...