Scottish Thistle Awards Open

16th June 2016

Once again you can have your say in recognising tourism businesses and events that deliver unforgettable experiences in Scotland.

Held annually, the Scottish Thistle Awards celebrates success, excellence and quality within the Scottish tourism industry and nominations are now open for 2016 / 17.

Using an online application form, nominations can be submitted by individuals, others in the industry or by the public across 15 regional categories. Each category has been aligned with the Scottish Tourism Strategy 2020, reinforcing links between the industry and the prestigious awards programme.

The Scottish Thistle Awards, now in their 29th year, are led by a panel of industry experts from several organisations including VisitScotland, Aberdeen City and Shire Tourism Awards, Highlands & Islands Tourism Awards, the Hospitality Industry Trust Scotland, Scottish Tourism Alliance, the Scottish Licensed Trade Association and sportscotland.

Enter or read further information about the Scottish Thistle Awards 2016 / 17.

The awards are based on five regional programmes with the category winners of each region progressing to the National Finals for the ultimate accolade of National Winner.

Nominations close on Friday 17th June, entries close on Friday 1 July.

The full list of national Scottish Thistle Award categories 2016 / 2017:

  • Most Hospitable Hotel
  • Most Hospitable B&B / Guest House
  • Best Holiday Accommodation
  • Best Informal Eating Experience
  • Best Restaurant Experience
  • Friendliest Pub / Bar
  • Best Cultural Event or Festival
  • Best Sporting Event
  • Best Outdoor / Adventure Experience
  • Working Together For Tourism
  • Best Visitor Attraction
  • Hospitality Hero
  • Innovation in Tourism
  • Regional Rising Star
  • Regional Ambassador

Please note that nominations are set up to notify businesses and encourage applications. The number of nominations each business receives does not have an impact the judges' decision.

Our premier partners...